top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon

Proverbs 31:14 Cowgirl Version


She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar. Proverbs 31:14

The virtuous cowgirl is no ordinary woman, even when it comes to cooking. She makes sure her family is well fed and that they have a variety of cuisine. She is able to give them a worldwide experience all from her home.

Again, the virtuous cowgirl is not lazy. She always makes sure her family is well fed on top of all of the other chores she has to do around her farm or ranch. Before my husband and I had kids, we ate a lot of frozen pizza and hamburger helpers. It wasn't until after our first son was born that we began putting more into the food that we fixed. We now make almost everything from scratch, including pizza every Tuesday evening. Our family is so much healthier for it and our grocery bill is much cheaper. It doesn't even take that much more work to cook from scratch, it just takes a little bit of forethought. That is where I struggle. I will cook anything you want me to, but you have to tell me what to cook. That is the hardest part for me.

There is something about gathering around the dinner table every evening and sharing the day with one another. It is an intimate thing to sit and eat together. We have a sense of closeness. There is a connection. After a long weekend at an event, and then getting home and rolling into working and catching up on work after the weekend we missed 5 days of family dinner. When we finally were able to gather around the table again it was like gathering with old friends again. I didn't realize until then how much I enjoy our family time together.

bottom of page