top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon

Proverbs 31:16 Cowgirl Version


This virtuous cowgirl is so productive she is able to buy a field. Yet she doesn't buy just any field, she considers it; meaning she thinks it over carefully, probably doing her research on productivity, soil conditions, taxes and such. Notice her husband is not involved in this. Why? Because he has full confidence in her (Provers 31:11). The reason she can do all this is because she has a strong, caring, loving husband behind her. She is independent, but in a good way.

I imagine that her husband is out doing his work for the day and returns home for the evening and she announces, "I noticed we could use a little more hay for our stock, so I purchased a hay field that has good productivity rate. We don't need to buy any extra hay now, and in fact, we can probably sell some of the extra from this field." Can you imagine his pleasure at her announcement? No more worrying about contracting more hay to feed their stock and they will get enough bounty to sell extra to cover the payments for the land.

This woman is a treasure to her husband. She is not a burden to him, but a partner in making their lifestyle better. I remember a time I went to support a friend selling products in a "party" setting. My husband went with me because he is friends with her husband as well. I remember asking him what he thought I should buy or how much I could spend. His reply to me was, "get whatever you want." My friend was shocked he said that to me. He told her, "she is more responsible with money than I am, I know she won't spend too much and she need to spend something on herself."

I don't tell that story to brag, but to explain that was one of the first times I realized I was beginning to measure up to the Proverbs 31 woman. You see, like most, I look at this passage and feel overwhelmed. This is a tall order to measure up to, but we must realize that this passage is not written about an actual woman, but it was written as a description for a son, for the qualities to look for in a woman.

Our #VirtuousCowgirls are a group of young women in grades 7th-12th that my friend Stephanie and I mentor. We pour our lives into these girls every week, and then some, to help them understand how to be a godly woman. This is such a blessing for us as both Stephanie and I have only sons. So we get our girl time.

bottom of page